Bigger than Blackadder, Bigger than Gove: World War One in Malawi.

Unique perspective on otherwise-exhausted topic

Lowman in Space

 

‘When I die, bury me at Zomba, So that my heart should pain. Hunger, hunger is painful. Yes, when I die, bury me at Zomba, So that my heart should pain. Yes, hunger is painful. Hunger is painful, hunger, I feel hungry. Bury me, bury me. Hunger is painful, hunger, I feel hungry.’

–          Conscript Marching Song from Nyasaland (Modern Day Malawi).

‘Let the rich men, bankers, titled men, storekeepers, farmers, and landlords go to war and get shot.’

– A censored letter of John Chilembwe, protesting British conscription in the country.

I don’t like Michael Gove. This is neither a controversial nor an original position to take on our Secretary for Education, but it’s only fair I admit my subjectivity before wading in to the already well covered debate sparked by his comments on the First World War.

With the Centenary of the First World War coming up…

View original post 782 more words

Leave a Reply

